Flash Fiction Challenge: “The Secret Door”

Posted: April 4, 2013 in Fiction, Flash Fiction Challenge
Tags: ,

Slightly behind schedule again. This weekend my parents came into town and the wife and I gave them a tour of Oakland

Vikings!!!!!!!!

Me sitting in an awesome dragon-motif chair in the Norwegian Room at the Cathedral of Learning.

(particularly the Nationality Rooms at the Cathedral of Learning; both of which are awesome and if you’re within reasonable driving distance of Pittsburgh, I highly recommend visiting the Cathedral – if feels like you’re walking around Hogwarts) and then once I was able to sit down and begin on this week’s flash fiction piece (prompted by Wendig’s “Secret Door” post)…well, I couldn’t stop. It took me until yesterday to finish (around 6000 words), simply because I’d look at it and go: “Can I stop here and fast-forward to the end-game and still do it justice? Nope. Continue on.”

So, hopefully I did the story justice by thumbing my nose so blatantly at the 1000 word limit. I present “The Scent of Jasmine”:

 Edit: This story has been removed – look for it collected with more of my work in ebook format! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.