Flash Fiction Challenge: The Titles Have Been Chosen

Posted: May 2, 2013 in Fiction, Flash Fiction Challenge
Tags: ,

So, I’m a liar.

Last week I said that I don’t work well starting with a title and building from there. After I posted last week’s piece, I went for a walk along the boulevard that I live off of here in Pittsburgh and saw a sign on someone’s door that read “Beware of Dog”. This immediately reminded me of the small tile mosaic that my paternal grandparents had for decades on the front porch of their home that depicted a dog with the warning of Cave Canem displayed above the beast (the mosaic itself, according to my father, having been brought back to the States from Italy after my grandfather’s tour in the Army Air Force during World War II). Well, that got my wheels turning, I submitted the title of “Cave Canem” to the challenge (it didn’t get picked, sadly), and now I’m working on a nice short story that I plan on including in the collection of flash fiction that I’ll hopefully have out by the Summer Solstice. *crosses fingers*

Anyway, this week’s challenge was to write a piece using one of the titles that Wendig deemed worthy. I liked the ring of “You Don’t Bring Me Dead Things Anymore” (submitted by Chantal Nair) and wrote the following:

Edit: This story has been removed – look for it collected with more of my work in ebook format! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.